Happy Birthday to Me!

My family and friends have always made my birthday special.

When I was little, we threw birthday parties at my house complete with games, food, and usually a piñata, or we held a party at some place cool… Skate U, a rock-climbing place, Fun World, that place with the slide that said “Hey hey hey don’t go that-a-way” when you tried to run up it. Sometimes we were even in Florida for my birthday, if Easter fell near the end of April.

Now that I’m older, usually for my birthday I get to choose what restaurant we go to as a family, we eat delicious food, and hang out.

My friends brought treats to school for my birthday in elementary school, decorated my locker in middle and high school, ensured I got sang to in Spanish class, helped me plan parties in college, and now go out to eat and just spend time with me. Last year I got all of my friends in the same place at the same time (quite a feat) and we had dinner at Cheesecake Factory… I have very fond memories of last birthday. I actually have really fond memories of all 23 of my birthdays!

My birthday in 2007

My birthday in 2007

My birthday in 2008 with Sarah at La Perla!

My birthday in 2008 with Sarah at La Perla!

I got to hang out with Guster (and Tori) on my birthday in 2009!

I got to hang out with Guster (and Tori) on my birthday in 2009!

With my mom in Madrid on my birthday in 2010!

With my mom in Madrid on my birthday in 2010!

Celebrating my birthday last year at José's Blue Sombrero... you get to keep the sombrero!

Celebrating my birthday last year at José’s Blue Sombrero… you get to keep the sombrero!

[The above pictures also show that my hair got curly between 2009 and 2011.. they say your body chemistry changes every 7 years and mine clearly did when I was 21. Strange, I know].

Being an Ambassadorial Scholar is very different than study abroad, because there isn’t a group of people you go with to that foreign country. You are literally alone. When I was in Spain on my birthday, my mom flew to Spain so I definitely wasn’t alone then… This time abroad it’s different, so I was honestly pretty worried about what my birthday would be like this year. As April 27th approached I got more and more nervous.

So how did it turn out?

I decided to take pictures of everything, even the basic, everyday things. This is probably the only birthday I will spend in Argentina, so why not document it?

Breakfast: Coffee, strawberry yogurt, and some pretty bad Argentinian granola

Breakfast: Coffee, strawberry yogurt, and some pretty bad Argentinian granola

Getting ready for class

Getting ready for class

Forecast for the day. Warm and sunny!

Forecast for the day. Warm and sunny! (For the record it isn’t raining here and it’s dry season so I don’t know why Weather+ thinks it’s going to rain every day.)

Walking to the bus stop

Walking to the bus stop

Waiting for the bus to go to class

Waiting for the bus to go to class

Still waiting for the bus

Still waiting for the bus

Inside my "facultad"

Inside my “facultad”

In class at la UNSa

In class at la UNSa

I was supposed to have class all day, from 9-6, on my birthday, so I thought that huge chunk of the day would already accounted for. But around 12:30 pm, our professor asked if we wanted to break for lunch or just keep going… everyone jumped at the chance to just keep going, and we ended up getting out of  class at 1:30! It was a new record and I was so thankful to have more of my birthday to enjoy, rather than sitting at UNSa bored. I basically bolted out the door when she said we could go!

Beautiful day on campus

Beautiful day walking through campus

Walking past the convent on my way from the bus stop back to my apartment

Walking past the convent on my way from the bus stop back to my apartment

Went to the mall in the afternoon and got some birthday presents for myself! You can tell I like teal...

Went to the mall in the afternoon and got some birthday presents for myself! You can tell I like teal…

Skyping with my mom... and the pets. That's Twiggy looking ridiculous as usual.

Skyping with my mom… and the pets. That’s Twiggy looking ridiculous as usual.

Apparently this is what 24 looks like!

Apparently this is what 24 looks like!

I was most anxious about my birthday because I didn’t know what I was going to do at night. I really hoped I wasn’t going to be alone! I have no mom, dad, sister, Brittany, Marissa, Michele, Matt, Nate, Luke, etc. here…

LUCKILY I really do have a few great people in my life here and they didn’t let me down!

La Fiamma, the pizzería where we had dinner. I stupidly forgot to take a picture of the delicious pizza.

La Fiamma, the pizzería where we had dinner. I stupidly forgot to take a picture of the delicious pizza.

Our with Cecilia and Carla

Out on Balcarce street with Cecilia and Carla

Me, Cecilia, Gastón, and Carla

Me, Cecilia, Gastón, and Carla

Me and Cecilia. It was like 3:30 am at this point. Exhausted.

Me and Cecilia. It was like 3:30 am at this point. Exhausted.

This is what 4 AM looks like

This is what 4 AM looks like

I had SO much fun on my birthday AND got two presents, one from Carla and one from Cecilia! I got some earrings and a pen holder for my desk that has a superstition associated with it… if you put coins all around it it’s supposed to bring you prosperity. I stupidly forgot my presents in Cecilia’s purse (I only had a clutch so I had nowhere to put them), so I will have to get those back soon!

Today, Sunday, I slept in, made some eggs and french toast, watched the latest episode of Scandal, and now am getting ready to go out to dinner with some Rotarians at my favorite restaurant… México Lindo. I can’t tell you guys how much I miss Mexican food. A lot.

I am so thankful to have amazing people in my life here, just like I do at home. Thanks to everyone at home for the Facebook wall posts, tweets, texts, etc. And thanks to my family for sending me a birthday package… it just isn’t here yet. Argentinian mail takes a really, really long time. Can’t wait to get it!

Lots of love from Argentina to all of you! 

Leave a Reply

