100 days!

When I was in elementary school, we always had a big party on the 100th day of school. I remember we would set up tables in the hallway and have a feast, and play games revolving around the number 100. The 100th day of school meant we only had 80 school days left before summer vacation!

I’ve been in Argentina 100 days! No party, no games with the number 100. And I have WAY MORE than 80 days left in Argentina. Nevertheless, I think it’s time to reflect on what’s happened in the past 100 days, especially because I missed the 1, 2, and 3 month-marks.

  • I found an apartment that I absolutely love.
  • I figured out how to pay my electric and phone bill and apartment fees.
  • I gained formal admission to la UNSa, my university.
  • I’ve become a graduate student.
  • I finished 4 graduate classes.
  • Reading academic texts in Spanish has become easier.
  • I made friends!
  • I completed the DNI (ID) and student visa application process and should have it by June.
  • I know every street in Salta between Entre Ríos and San Martín (North/South) and Virrey Toledo and Maipú (East/West) and can get around just fine.
  • I’ve given people directions on the bus and on the street a number of times.
  • I rescued an abandoned puppy and saved him.
  • I have eaten a LOT of empanadas and tamales and a few humitas.
  • I have started to really like Argentinian snacks.
  • I’ve become a volunteer at Instituto Franklin and absolutely love it.
  • I joined a yoga studio and a gym.
  • I can run 3 kilometers.
  • I’ve met every other Ambassadorial Scholar from the US currently in Argentina.
  • I’ve become a better cook and have made a lot more recipes.
  • I turned 24!
  • My listening comprehension has gotten way better and I now understand almost all Salteños all the time. (Porteños, people from Buenos Aires are still extremely hard for me to understand).
  • I’ve completely removed aguacate, piña, coche, piso, vale, and vosotros from my vocabulary… sorry, Spain.
  • I say chau much more often than haluego (hasta luego Spain style).
  • I can use vos pretty efficiently, but sometimes I still revert to tú form.
  • I feel like a salteña sometimes.
  • Things that used to bother me here are now just ‘normal.’
  • I’ve started to look for jobs at English institutes and private schools…

I really like Salta. I want to stay here. No, family and friends and Rotarians, don’t panic. I am certainly coming home for Christmas as planned. But it would be really awesome to come back and work here next school year…

Leave a Reply

