Argentina…

Today: I woke up later than anticipated, and took a taxi to the migraciones (immigration) office. I was hassled by the taxi driver because I only had a 100 peso bill for a 15 peso ride.

I went to migraciones because I submitted my application for residency/my visa/my DNI (ID) on March 20th. My “temporary” residency expired after 3 months (because pretty much everyone gets theirs within the 3-month time frame. Well, June 20th came and went and I still don’t have my DNI. So, I went to migraciones planning to bitch them out more or less and get to the bottom of this all.

Funny story. The woman who I mentioned in the last post who’s American and has totally tried to take advantage of me told me to use a translator in Salta, and it turns out the one that I used SUCKS and didn’t get the translation of my FBI background check properly certified as an official translation. So now I have to go and make an appointment to see the supreme court of Salta (I am not even kidding about this) to get it certified.

I won’t have my ID until September. This is even more complicated because I am leaving Argentina next week to take a trip to Bolivia and Perú, and am returning in August. Since I don’t have my DNI and no official anything in my passport, it’s very likely that I will get charged the fine of 300 pesos when I try to leave the country. And there’s “nothing” migraciones can do about it. 

Also, because this country is extremely inefficient, I had to pay 10 pesos (less than $2) to “restart” my visa application, and you can only pay this at a bank downtown. Of course I left migraciones at 12:10 and the banks close at 12:30 (they do not re-open… that’s banking hours here). So I took another taxi to the bank to pay the dumb 10 pesos. I walked in, grabbed a number and realized there were literally 250 people in line before me. This bank is enormous and every single seat was filled and people were packed in. I went to a security guard at the part of the bank where large corporations pay their bills, and definitely kind of flirted with him. He said “hang on a minute” and no more than 3 minutes later I was paying my 10 pesos and walking out of the bank. No shame.

Then I had to go to a different bank to pay my apartment fees. Of course nothing can be done at the same bank here. They had a TV showing a tennis match between someone from Argentina and someone from eastern Europe, and the old man I was next to in line was SUPER into tennis. It was pretty hilarious because he was yelling at the TV in the bank.

Of course, after paying my apartment fees I walk out of the bank and witness a car accident and the drivers get into a physical fight in the middle of the street that a cop has to break up.

This country never fails to amuse me. Also, wish me luck on going out of Argentina and not paying a fine, etc. 

Leave a Reply

