“The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page”

quote

My friend Loni is a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in Bahia, Brazil. We met at Lago del Bosque, the Spanish immersion camp through Concordia Language Villages. Her and I were credit teachers together, and were responsible for these girls for an entire month as they worked to get a full year of high school world language credit. We not only taught them (along with a group of boys), but also lived with the girls.

Loni and I with the credit girls

Loni and I with the credit girls

Being a credit teacher is extremely, extremely stressful because in addition to being a camp counselor and participating in cooking classes, art classes, mealtime, nighttime programming, etc. you are also teaching a year of language curriculum in one month. You work in extremely, extremely close proximity with the other credit teachers — for my session it was just Loni and I. Basically, you get to know each other VERY well over four weeks. This kind of situation can also lead to some disagreements, and I’m pretty sure Loni and I both lost our minds at some point last summer. But we made it through, and stayed in touch after camp.

All the credit kids

All the credit kids

We both have a “winter break” from classes, and she suggested coming to Argentina to visit. I suggested we go to Bolivia and Perú, because a few months before my salteña friend Miriam suggested we take a trip up to Machu Picchu. Miriam told me she couldn’t go anymore, but Loni agreed and we started planning!

On Friday we are leaving on a 3-week trip that will take us from Salta, Argentina to Lima, Perú. We will take trains, busses, and one plane, on top of walking part of the trip as we do a 4-day trek to Machu Picchu.

This document details our itinerary incase you want to look at what we have planned out. We will get to see all of this amazing stuff:

Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

Laguna Verde, Uyuni, Bolivia

Laguna Verde, Uyuni, Bolivia

Cochabamba, Bolivia

Cochabamba, Bolivia

La Paz, Bolivia

La Paz, Bolivia

Island in Lake Titicaca, Bolivia/Perú

Island in Lake Titicaca, Bolivia/Perú

Island in Lake Titicaca, Bolivia/Perú

Island in Lake Titicaca, Bolivia/Perú

Arequipa, Perú

Arequipa, Perú

Cusco, Perú

Cusco, Perú

Machu Picchu, Perú

Machu Picchu, Perú

Lima, Perú

Lima, Perú

I am so excited to see Bolivia and Perú, especially because I was supposed to be studying in Bolivia this year. It will definitely be exhausting and challenging, as I’ve heard too many horror stories about busses in Bolivia especially. But I have done my research, found the safest bus companies, and planned everything out as much as possible. I will try to blog at least once during the trip, and will also be updating my Facebook whenever possible. It will be weird to be gone from Salta for 3 weeks because it’s totally become home to me. But at least I know that my apartment and the city will be waiting for me when I get back!

Leave a Reply

